Fees and Expiration Dates
How much does a license cost?
It depends on the type of license and how many years you want the license to be valid. The Commission sets the annual license fee by rule.
- View a list of licenses and applicable fees.
When does my license expire?
A license expires in one, two, or three years and on the last day of the month in which the license was issued. If you have a license badge, expiration information is printed on your badge.
Return to Top
Is there an additional fee for fingerprint processing?
Yes, see below.
Applicants ages 17 to 69 years must be fingerprinted at a Commission Licensing office or be fingerprinted on a FBI card at a local law enforcement office. If submitting a completed FBI fingerprint card you must first register the completed card before sending it to the Commission. Follow these instructions to register your fingerprint card.
Please note that fingerprint fees are subject to change based on the fees established by the Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
NEW APPLICANTS - All new occupational license applicants who must submit a fingerprint card for a background check must pay the 'New Applicant Fingerprint Processing Fee' in addition to the occupational license fee.
RENEWAL APPLICANTS - By law, every three years the Commission must obtain an updated background check on each occupational licensee. As there are two options available for submitting fingerprints for this requirement, licensees must call a Commission licensing office to see which option applies.
- Option 1: Your original fingerprints are NOT on file with the Department of Public Safety. This occurs when your original fingerprints were rejected for any number of reasons.
You may submit your application online for renewal. your completed FBI fingerprint card after you have registered it, the applicable license fee and the 'Option 1 - Not Eligible for Fingerprint Resubmit Fee" to the Commission. (Follow these instructions to register your fingerprint card.)
- Option 2: Your original fingerprints are on file with the Department of Public Safety. If your original fingerprints are on file with the Department of Public Safety, the Commission can 'resubmit' them. It is very important to call a Commission licensing office to verify that you qualify for this option. Failure to do so may delay the processing of your application.
If you qualify for this option, submit your application for renewal, your applicable license fee and the Option 2-Eligible for Fingerprint Resubmit Fee to the Commission.
Please call the Austin Licensing office at 512-833-6699 if you have any questions about the fingerprinting process.
What are the age requirements for fingerprinting?
Applicants who are 17 years of age and older and those who are 69 years of age and younger must submit fingerprint cards.
My fingerprints do not change, so why do I have to be fingerprinted again?
Under the Texas Racing Act, the Commission must receive an FBI report on every licensee every three years. The FBI will not release this information unless a new fingerprint card is submitted. If you are renewing your license, the Department of Public Safety(DPS) may have your original fingerprints on file. You must call a Texas Racing Commission Licensing Office to verify whether you qualify to have DPS resubmit your fingerprints.
I am due to submit a three-year fingerprint card. Can you use my fingerprints from another state?
May I submit my renewal application online if I need to be fingerprinted again?
Yes. However, how staff processes your application depends upon if your original fingerprints are on file that can be resubmitted or if a new fingerprint card is necessary. Please call the Commission Licensing Office to verify whether you are eligible to have your original fingerprints resubmitted.
- If fingerprints are eligible for resubmission
Staff will contact you when your online application is received to arrange payment for the resubmit fee.
- If fingerprints are NOT eligible for resubmission
You may still complete the application online. Once received staff will send you a FBI card. You will need to be fingerprinted, either by Commission staff or your local law enforcement agency,
and return the completed card to the Commission within 21 days. If you fail to return the completed card within the 21 days, the Commission will not renew the license or refund the renewal fee. You would need to resubmit an application and pay a new renewal fee.
Return to Top
Do I need to get a badge?
A licensee who desires to visit a Texas racetrack in a role other than a patron (i.e. you want to go in the stable area or you work on the racetrack grounds) must have a current badge. A badge can be printed at any Racing Commission office at any time that your license is current and in good standing.
Can I just use the badge I already have?
Because the badge has the license expiration date printed on it, you must go to a Racing Commission office to have a new badge printed. If you don't plan on going to any Texas racetrack during the term of your license, you do not need to get a new badge printed.
What do I need to bring with me to obtain a badge?
Because the badge is a photo i.d., you must provide proof of your identity. Click here to see a list of acceptable documents to show proof of identity.
Return to Top
Multiple Owners and Businesses
Will I receive a license badge for a business license?
No. License badges are only issued to an individual for an individual license.
I want a vendor's license. Why do I have to complete two applications?
You must complete one business application for the vendor business and one individual application for the designated representative or owner of the company. All employees of the company will be required to complete an individual application as well.
Return to Top
I want to deliver hay at a racetrack. What do I have to do?
You must obtain approval from the racetrack association. Complete a vendor application and an individual license application for the designated representative or owner of the company. All employees of the company must complete an individual application as well.
My spouse and I own race animals together. What are the licensing requirements?
Each spouse must have an individual owner's license. You are not required to register as a multiple owner.
I own race animals in partnership with others. What are the licensing requirements?
The partnership must register as a multiple owner. When completing the multiple owner/stable/farm registration form, you must list all partners, including those who own less than 5% of the partnership. In addition, each partner who owns 5% or more of the partnership must be individually licensed as an owner. The partners who own less than 5% are not required to be individually licensed.
Can my partners owning less than 5% get individually licensed if they wish?
Return to Top
Whom do I contact for any ownership changes in the partnership?
You must notify a Racing Commission office of any changes in ownership.
Can I use a stable name that has already been registered by another entity?
No. Once a stable name has been registered, no other entity can use the same stable name.
Why is it so important to correctly name the owner of the race animal on the multiple owner/stable/farm registration form?
The Texas Racing Act, §7.02(a) requires all persons involved in any capacity with pari-mutuel racing in Texas to be licensed by the Commission. To ensure the Commission is licensing the correct entities and individuals, Section 3 of the multiple owner registration form requires you to enter the name of the race animal's owner as it appears on the registration papers. The Commission and the racing office check this form to ensure each race animal's owner is properly licensed. If the records of the racing office and the Commission do not match, the race animal could be scratched from the race.
Return to Top
I own a kennel booked at a Texas greyhound racetrack. What do I need to do to be licensed?
You must complete a kennel registration form for the kennel and have the Judges and the racetrack sign the form. In addition, every person owning 5% or more of the kennel must be individually licensed.
I own a kennel that owns greyhounds racing in Texas, but the kennel is not booked at a racetrack. What do I need to do to be licensed?
You must complete a multiple owner/stable/farm registration form for the kennel. In addition, every person owning 5% or more of the kennel must be individually licensed.
Can anyone apply or renew online?
No. You cannot renew online if:
You have any outstanding fines or returned checks.
You have a ruling that makes you ineligible to participate in racing.
You need to see a Racing Commission steward, judge, or investigator.
You have not participated in racing in Texas in the last three years.
You hold a license type that was exempted from online renewal to keep the cost of those license types at a minimum. Click here to see the license types that are ineligible for online renewal.
You have a foreign address. At this time, the texas.gov portal cannot process applications with foreign addresses. texas.gov is working to address this issue and we hope to offer this in the future.
Return to Top
Who do I call if I don't know my license number?
You may contact the Austin office at 512-833-6699 Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
or you may contact one of our field offices.
Return to Top
Which address am I supposed to enter into the online application program?
The address that appears in the application program is your mailing address currently on file with the Racing Commission. If that address is incorrect, you should correct it. The second address field is optional. If you elect to enter a second address, be sure to designate only one address as your mailing address. Submitting a renewal application with more than one mailing address will delay processing of your application.
Return to Top
How do I apply online for more than one year?
Certain license types are eligible to renew for either 1, 2 or 3 years. Click here to see chart that shows which license types are eligible for multi-year licenses.
To renew your license for only one year, simply enter your license number. To renew a license for more than one year, enter your license number followed by a dash and either a '2' or '3' for the number of years desired. For example, if your license number is 1773, enter '1773' in the license number field to renew for one year. For a 2 year renewal, enter '1773-2'. For a 3 year renewal, enter '1773 -3'.
Is my license renewed as soon as I complete the online application?
No. Completing the online application process and paying the license fee does not constitute license renewal. The Racing Commission must receive the application and verify that any required forms such as signature or fingerprint forms have also been submitted. If all required forms are received, the license will be renewed. When your license is renewed, you will receive a confirmation letter from the Racing Commission. You may also inquire at any Racing Commission office to learn the current status of your license.
How soon after submitting my online application will my application be processed?
The Commission tries to process every online application within 24 hours after it is submitted. In times of high workload, however, that time may vary. By entering an e-mail address in your online application, you will be notified more quickly whether your application is approved.
Return to Top
Will I be notified that my license has been renewed?
Yes. You will receive an acknowledgement letter, via e-mail or mail, stating that your application has been processed and whether your license was renewed or not renewed. If the license is not renewed, the letter will tell you why your license hasn't been renewed. In most instances, you will simply need to submit additional information to the Commission for the license to be renewed.
What happens if I do not submit all the necessary information before 21 days?
Your license will not be renewed. More importantly, your money will not be refunded. You will have to re-submit your application for renewal, either online, by mail, or in person, and pay a new license fee.
Will my printed payment receipt allow me to work at the track or have access to the stable or kennel area?
No. To work on the racetrack grounds or have access to the restricted areas at the racetrack, you must obtain a new Racing Commission badge at a licensing office.
I own a race animal. If I submit my online application today, can I race a horse or greyhound today?
No. If you are entered in a race and you submit an online application on the day of the race, you will not be licensed before the race and you may be subject to disciplinary action by the stewards or racing judges.
Return to Top
My trainer got an emergency license for me at the track. Can I submit my application online?
No. You must contact a Racing Commission office for assistance.
Can I change my name and address as part of the online renewal process?
You can change your address using the online renewal process, but you cannot change your name. To change your name, you must submit the request in writing to the Texas Racing Commission. Contact any Racing Commission office for further information.
Return to Top
I made a mistake in filling in the online application. What do I do now?
If you make a mistake before you hit the final "submit" button, you may hit the "back" button on your browser to the appropriate page and correct the information. If you realize you made a mistake after you hit the final "submit" button, to make changes you must contact the Commission immediately. Send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org, identify the information that was incorrect, and provide the correct information. If the application has not yet been processed, every effort will be made to incorporate your changes into the application. If the application has already been processed, however, no changes may be made to the application and you may be subject to disciplinary action if the information in the application is materially false.
After I submitted an online application, I decided I don't really want a license. Can I receive a refund?
No. The license fee is non-refundable.
Who do I contact if I have technical difficulties applying online?
Technical support for the online renewal process is available seven days a week, 24 hours a day through the texas.gov helpdesk at 1-877-452-9060 or by e-mail at email@example.com
Return to Top
Is there a minimum age requirement to work on the backside of a racetrack?
Yes. You must be at least 16 years old to work on the backside of a racetrack.
I am under 18 years of age and married. Does my parent still need to sign my application?
Yes. If you are applying by mail or in person, a parent must sign Section 16e of the license application form. If you applying for renewal online, a parent must sign Section 10 of the online addendum form.
I am under 18 years of age and married. Do I still need my school to sign anything?
Yes. If you are applying by mail or in person, the school must sign complete the Verification of Enrollment & Attendance form. If you are applying for renewal online, the school must sign Section 9 of the online addendum form.
Who do I get to sign the school enrollment section when school is out?
The administration office is usually open year round. A representative from the administration office can sign the necessary form.
What if I graduate when I am 16 or 17 years old?
You will need to provide proof of graduation.
I received a Notice of Denial of License Renewal. Who should I contact to resolve this matter?
The Office of the Attorney General's Child Support Division (CSD) sends these notices. Contact the CSD Field Office at the phone number on the bottom of the Notice of Denial of License Renewal or at customer service at (800)252-8014.
Why did I receive a Notice of Denial of License Renewal?
The OAG Child Support Division records show you have not made a payment in more than 6 months..
Can I use my existing license after getting a license nonrenewable notice from the OAG Child Support Division (CSD)?
You may not use your license after the expiration date on the license. However, you may work between the date you receive the nonrenewable notice and the expiration date on your TxRC license.
How can I renew my license if I have an outstanding issue with the OAG Child Support Division?
First, contact the OAG Child Support Division Field Office or customer service at (800)252-8014 to resolve payment of any amounts owed and obtain a release. The OAG will send the Commission a release of denial. When the Commission receives notice, you may then apply for your TxRC license.
After I settle with the OAG, when can I renew my license?
You may not apply for renewal of your license until the TxRC has received a release from the Child Support Division.
Can I renew if I have an outstanding student loan?
No. State law prohibits state agencies from renewing a license if the licensee is in default on a student loan from the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TGSLC). The individual can request a formal hearing. The Commission must receive notice from TGSL that you are in good standing. The applicant can call the TG (1-800-252-9743) to enter into a repayment agreement or pay the balance in full.
Return to Top