to Apply for an Individual License Online
I Apply for a License Online?
The Commission issues over
40 different types of occupational licenses for people to participate in pari-mutuel
racing in Texas. Most of those license types are eligible for online application.
For a list of the license types eligible for online application, the associated
fees, and the required forms, click here.
To keep the cost of certain license
types as low as possible, the Commission has determined that some license
types are not eligible for online application. Click here
to see those license types.
NOTICE: Each occupational license applicant who submits fingerprint cards for a background check must pay a $42.00 fingerprint processing fee in addition to the occupational license fee.
The Commission revised its fingerprint policy so that applicants who are 16 years of age and younger and those who are 70 years of age and older do not have to submit fingerprint cards.
Applicants who are 17 years of age and older and those who are 69 years of age and younger must submit fingerprint cards.
Please call the Austin Licensing office at 512-833-6699 if you have any questions about the fingerprinting process and the $41.45 fingerprint process fee.
In addition, some people are not
eligible to submit an application online due to their particular situation,
such as prior criminal history or racing regulatory issues in other states.
You will not be able to apply for a license online if:
- You do not have a social security number.
- You have ever been convicted
of a first degree felony or capital grade offense.
- You have been convicted of any
felony in the past 10 years which you have not previously disclosed to the
- You have been convicted of any
misdemeanor (other than a traffic violation) in the past four years which
you have not previously disclosed to the Racing Commission.
- You or any person with whom you
currently reside is:
- under suspension by another
- has had a license revoked
by another racing jurisdiction; or
- has had a license application
denied by another racing jurisdiction.
- You are currently excluded from
any pari-mutuel racetrack.
- You have a foreign address. At
this time, the Texas Online portal cannot process applications with foreign
addresses. Texas Online is working to address this issue and we hope to offer
this in the future.
In addition, if you have been licensed
by the Racing Commission before in a different capacity, you will not be able
to apply for a new license online if:
- You have any outstanding fines
or returned checks.
- You have a ruling against you
that makes you ineligible to participate in racing (i.e. your license is suspended).
- Your license has been flagged
by the Commission for you to see a steward, judge, or investigator. This is
usually because the stewards, judges, or investigators have some questions
or information for you.
If you are not sure whether you
are eligible to apply for a license online, contact the Commission's main
office in Austin.
How Do I Apply
for a License Online?
Applying for an individual license
is quick and easy. The process will go smoothly if you carefully read all instructions
before entering any data. To begin the application process, you must enter your
name and answer some preliminary eligibility questions. If after answering
the preliminary eligibility questions you receive a message stating you are
ineligible to apply online, you still may be eligible for a license. Contact
the Commission's main
office in Austin and we can tell you based on your specific circumstances
whether you are eligible to be licensed in Texas.
You will be asked to enter a lot of personal information about yourself. The
Racing Commission is considered a law enforcement agency and needs this information
to confirm your identity. In addition, the Racing Commission is required by
state law to obtain your social security number. Your social security number
is confidential, however, and will not be disclosed in any public information
request. If you do not have a social security number, you will not be able to
Date of Birth
You must enter your date of birth numerically in mm/dd/yyyy format. For example,
if your birthday is August 15, 1957, you would enter "08/15/1957"
in the date of birth field.
The application system will ask you to enter your mailing address. The Racing
Commission will use this address to contact you unless you provide a second,
local address. You should enter the phone number that is most likely to reach
you in the mailing address section. Additional phone numbers such as cell, fax,
and business phone numbers can be entered in other sections of the application.
For many license types, the licensing process will require you to submit an
addendum form. The information on this form, such as employer approval and proof
of education, allows the Commission to verify you are qualified to hold your
license. Click here to view and print a copy of the online
See our Online Licensing FAQ's.
apply for a new INDIVIDUAL license via texas.gov, click