to Renew an Individual License Online
More than 30 different occupational licenses are eligible for renewal online. View the license types eligible for online renewal, the associated fees, and the required forms. Some license types, however, cannot be renewed online.
Renewal applicants must submit fingerprints every three years. The Texas Racing Commission has two options for the applicant to submit renewal fingerprints. Individuals due to submit fingerprints with an occupational license renewal must call a licensing office to see which option is available.
- Option 1: Submit fingerprint cards—The original fingerprints are not on file with the Department of Public Safety. This occurs when the original fingerprints were rejected or the TxRC does not have evidence that the Department of Public Safety has original fingerprints on file. The applicant must be fingerprinted on an FBI card and submit $41.45 fingerprint fee with the application.
- Option 2: “Resubmit” fingerprint cards—The applicant must submit a $31.50 processing fee and the Texas Racing Commission will resubmit the original fingerprints. Original fingerprints must be on file with the Department of Public Safety. It is very important to call a Texas Racing Commission licensing office to verify that you qualify for this option. Failure to do so may delay the processing of your application.
Applicants who are 18 years of age and older and those who are 69 years of age and younger must submit fingerprint cards.
Some licensees are not eligible to submit a renewal application online due to regulatory issues with the Commission. An applicant for renewal may not use the online process if the applicant:
- Has outstanding fines or returned checks.
- Is subject to a ruling making the applicant ineligible to participate in racing (i.e. a suspended license).
- Has had a license flagged by the Commission with a requirement to see a steward, judge, or investigator.
- Has not participated in racing in Texas in the last three years.
- Has a foreign address, which currently the texas.gov portal cannot process.
The application system will not permit applicants who have renewed a license in the past 30 days to inadvertently renew again.
Still unsure whether you are eligible renew Online? Contact the Commission's main office in Austin for assistance.
How Do I Renew Online?
It’s simple. Just visit texas.gov. Carefully read all instructions before entering any data. To start the process, you’ll need to know your license number and date of birth. If you don't know your license number, contact a Racing Commission office.
A few things to keep in mind:
- Multi-Year License Numbers
Some license types may be renewed for one, two, or three years. To renew a license for more than one year, enter the license number, a dash and the number of years you wish to renew. For example, if you wanted to renew license number 1798 for two years, you would enter 1798-2 in the license number field. If renewing for one year, enter the license number alone. Do not attempt to renew a license number more than once. If you submit a renewal application for 1798-3 and then again for 1798, the license will not be renewed for four years: The Commission will process the three-year renewal application (1798-3) and you will forfeit the cost of the one-year (1798) license fee.
- Expiration of Renewed Licenses
Commission licenses expire one, two, or three years after the last day of the month in which the license is renewed. Renewing a license early does not add months to a license. For example, if your license is set to expire on Dec. 31, 2009, and you renew it in Oct. 2009, your new expiration date is Oct. 30, 2010, not December 31, 2010.
- Address Information
As part of the renewal, you must verify your mailing address. There is also space to enter a second address and to designate it as either "mailing" or "permanent". If you elect to enter two addresses, designate only one as your mailing address. Processing will be delayed for renewals with more than one mailing address.
- Additional Information
For many license types, the renewal process will require submission of an addendum form. The information on this form, such as employer approval and proof of education, allows the Commission to verify you are qualified to hold your license.
See our Online Licensing FAQ's.
To submit a renewal application for an INDIVIDUAL via Texas Online, visit