Can anyone renew online?
No. You cannot renew online if:
You have any outstanding
fines or returned checks.
You have a ruling
that makes you ineligible to participate in racing.
You need to see
a Racing Commission steward, judge, or investigator.
You have not participated
in racing in Texas in the last three years.
You hold a license
type that was exempted from online renewal to keep the cost of those license
types at a minimum. Click here to see the
license types that are ineligible for online renewal.
You have a foreign
address. At this time, the Texas.gov portal cannot process applications
with foreign addresses. Texas.gov is working to address this issue and
we hope to offer this in the future.
How do I know if I'm eligible to renew online?
See the applicable eligibility page - individual
license or business license.
What information do I need to submit an application
Commission license number.
A major credit
card (Visa, Master Card, Discover, American Express) or an electronic check.
(address, phone number, etc.)
Who do I call if I don't know my license number?
You may contact the Austin office at 512-833-6699 Monday - Friday 8 a.m.
- 5 p.m.
or you may contact one of our field offices.
Why can't the online application program find my
Not all licenses are eligible to be renewed online. Refer to the appropriate
eligibility page (individual license or
business license) for renewal criteria
or contact a Racing Commission office to confirm
won't the online application program accept my date of birth?
You must enter your date of birth in mm/dd/yyyy format. For example, if
your date of birth is August 15, 1957, you would enter "08/15/1957".
address am I supposed to enter into the online application program?
The address that appears in the application program is your mailing address
currently on file with the Racing Commission. If that address is incorrect,
you should correct it. If the mailing address is correct, use the 'Edit' button
to add a fax or email address. The second address field is optional.
If you elect to enter a second address, be sure to change the address type
to 'PERMANENT'. Submitting a renewal application
with more than one mailing address will delay processing of your application.
How much does it cost to renew online?
The cost to renew your license is the same whether you renew online, by
mail, or in person. Click here to see license
fees and required forms for online renewal.
Can I use money from my horsemen's account to pay
for the license fee online?
No. Currently, you may use only a major credit card (Visa, Master Card,
Discover, American Express) or an electronic check to pay for a license fee
with an online application.
How do I apply online for more than one year?
Certain license types are eligible to renew for either 1, 2 or 3 years.
Click here to see chart that shows which license
types are eligible for multi-year licenses.
To renew your license for only one year, simply enter your license number.
To renew a license for more than one year, enter your license number followed
by a dash and either a '2' or '3' for the number of years desired. For example,
if your license number is 1798, enter '1798' in the license number field to
renew for one year. For a 2-year renewal, enter '1798-2'. For a 3-year renewal,
enter '1798 -3'. Do not attempt to renew your 'base'
license number more than once. If you submit a renewal for '1798-3' and then
again for '1798-1', you will not be renewed for four years. We will process
the three-year renewal (1798-3) and you will forfeit the cost of the one-year
(1798-1) license fee. The fee for the one-year renewal cannot be refunded.
May I submit my renewal application online if I
need to be fingerprinted again?
You may submit a renewal application online even if you need to be fingerprinted
again. When the Racing Commission receives your application, we will mail
you a fingerprint card. You will then have 21 days to be fingerprinted, either
by our staff or one of your local law enforcement agencies, and return the
completed card to the Racing Commission. If you do not return the completed
card within the 21-day period, your license will not be renewed and your money
will not be refunded. You will have to re-submit your application for renewal,
either online, by mail, or in person, and pay a new license fee.
Is there an additional fee for fingerprint processing?
Each occupational license applicant who submits fingerprint cards for a background check must pay a $41.45 fingerprint processing fee in addition to the occupational license fee.
Based on revisions to the Commission's fingerprint rule, each applicant, including those 10 years of age or older, will now be required to submit fingerprint cards. In addition, the Commission will update a licensee's background information more often, as license holders will be fingerprinted every three years instead of every five years.
Please call the Austin Licensing office at 512-833-6699 if you have any questions about the fingerprinting process and the $41.45 fingerprint process fee.
Is my license renewed as soon as I complete the
No. Completing the online application process and paying the license fee
does not constitute license renewal. The Racing Commission must receive the
application and verify that any required forms such as signature or fingerprint
forms have also been submitted. If all required forms are received, the license
will be renewed. When your license is renewed, you will receive a confirmation
letter from the Racing Commission. You may also inquire at any Racing
Commission office to learn the current status of your license.
Be aware that when your online renewal application is
processed, your new ending date will be the last day of the month, twelve
(12) months from the date your renewal is processed. As an example, if your
current expiration date is 11/30/2004, renewing your license in August of
2004 will result in a new expiration date of August 31, 2005, not November
How soon after submitting my online application
will my application be processed?
The Commission tries to process every online application within 24 hours
after it is submitted. In times of high workload, however, that time may vary.
By entering an e-mail address in your online application, you will be notified
more quickly whether your application is approved.
Will I be notified that my license has been renewed?
Yes. You will receive an acknowledgement letter, via e-mail or mail, stating
that your application has been processed and whether your license was renewed
or not renewed. If the license is not renewed, the letter will tell you why
your license hasn't been renewed. In most instances, you will simply need
to submit additional information to the Commission for the license to be renewed.
I applied online and have to submit additional
information. How long do I have to submit the extra information?
You have 21 days after the date you submit your online application to file
with the Racing Commission all the necessary additional information, such
as fingerprints and the $41.45 fingerprint processing fee or a signed addendum form. To determine whether you need to
submit a signed addendum form, read the applicable eligibility requirements
(individual license or business
license). Click here to view the online
What happens if I do not submit all the necessary
information before 21 days?
Your license will not be renewed. More importantly, your money will not
be refunded. You will have to re-submit your application for renewal, either
online, by mail, or in person, and pay a new license fee.
Do I need a supervisor or employer signature to
complete the online renewal process?
Certain license types are required to have employer signature. Click here
to see a list of license types and the signatures that are required for renewal.
I need another person to sign an addendum form
before my online application is processed. What do I do next?
Print out an addendum form, have
the other person sign the form in the appropriate
section, and file the form at a Racing Commission
office within 21 days after you submitted your online application.
Will my printed payment receipt allow me to work
at the track or have access to the stable or kennel area?
No. To work on the racetrack grounds or have access to the restricted areas
at the racetrack, you must obtain a new Racing Commission badge at a licensing
Can I apply online to renew the license of one
of my employees?
Yes, but you must have all the necessary information. And remember, the
information you submit online must be accurate and truthful. Submitting false
information on an online application is the same as submitting false information
on a paper application - it can subject you or your employee to disciplinary
action by the stewards or racing judges, or even criminal penalties.
I own a race animal. If I submit my online application
today, can I race a horse or greyhound today?
No. If you are entered in a race and you submit an online application on
the day of the race, you will not be licensed before the race and you may
be subject to disciplinary action by the stewards or racing judges.
My trainer got an emergency license for me at the
track. Can I submit my application online?
No. You must contact a Racing Commission office
Do I need to be an owner of a horse or greyhound
before I can get licensed as an owner?
I'm a trainer. Can I apply online to renew the
license for one of my owners as well as my own license?
Yes, but you must complete the licensing process once for each different
license you renew. Also, you must have all the necessary information on the
owner and the information you submit online must be accurate and truthful.
Submitting false information on an online application is the same as submitting
false information on a paper application - it can subject you or the owner
to disciplinary action by the stewards or racing judges, or even criminal
I am licensed by the National Racing Compact. Can
I apply for renewal online?
Due to the relationship between the Compact licensing process and our licensing
process, you cannot apply to renew your Texas Racing Commission license online.
Contact a Racing Commission office for assistance.
Can I change my name and address as part of the
online renewal process?
You can change your address using the online renewal process, but you cannot
change your name. To change your name, you must submit the request in writing
to the Texas Racing Commission. Contact any Racing
Commission office for further information.
I made a mistake in filling in the online application.
What do I do now?
If you make a mistake before you hit the final "submit" button,
you may hit the "back" button on your browser to the appropriate
page and correct the information. If you realize you made a mistake after
you hit the final "submit" button, to make changes you must contact
the Commission immediately. Send an e-mail to email@example.com,
identify the information that was incorrect, and provide the correct information.
If the application has not yet been processed, every effort will be made to
incorporate your changes into the application. If the application has already
been processed, however, no changes may be made to the application and you
may be subject to disciplinary action if the information in the application
is materially false.
After I submitted an online application, I decided
I don't really want a license. Can I receive a refund?
No. The license fee is non-refundable.
I renewed the wrong license. What do I do now?
Unfortunately, license fees are non-refundable. If the license you wanted
to renew is incompatible with the license you renewed (such as a jockey and
an owner), you will need to contact a Racing Commission
office to abandon the license you don't want and renew the license you
do want. If the two licenses are compatible, you may renew the license you
want by any available licensing method - online, in person, or by mail. For
more information, contact a Racing Commission office.
Who do I contact if I have technical difficulties
Technical support for the online application process is available seven days
a week, 24 hours a day through the texas.gov helpdesk at 1-877-452-9060.
You may also click on the logo to send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org
See our general Licensing
See our FAQ's
for Online Licensing for Businesses and General